Play dough

Well, I’ve had a hard time getting back into the rhythm  of school since Christmas.  I don’t know what it is, I just don’t want to do it.  I know it is terrible, but it is just fact! DSCN7791

Sad, the kids pick up on it quickly, and they have no motivation at all.  Well, I’ve been doing some reading and research, and I do believe I’m getting back on track.  We have a lot to catch up on, but I think we can do it before the end of the year.  I do not feel like I can properly teach my teens all the way through high school, there is way too much stuff I know nothing about, but with the help of the internet we are making some progress.  For all it’s problems, you tube is beginning to be a favorite of mine!  There are soooo many instructional movies on there!  You can even find the science experiments they need to do.  We don’t have the stuff to do them, but at least they can watch them being done.  Tabitha is slowly learning some stuff.  She is learning her colors and shapes and how to count.

DSCN7864According to Tabs, the red,pink, and purple crayons are “girl”crayons. The rest are boy! lol

  She is super smart, and picks everything up quickly, but I often have issues trying to keep her busy during school.  So today, we tried something, I had heard of home made play dough, but had never attempted to make it myself.  Wellllllll, if you have little ones, I highly recommend making your own.  Chances are you have everything you need in the pantry other than cream of tartar, and it’s easy. 

DSCN7869

Tabs helped with the makings…

DSCN7870

DSCN7871

It took less than 10 minutes to make, and she was busy almost the entire time we were working on school!

DSCN7872

She had a blast, and the best part  we have all agreed, it doesn’t smell like regular play dough!  We used strawberry banana jello, and it has a wonderful strawberry scent!!

Recipe:

1 cup flour

1/2 cup salt

2Tbls cream of tartar

1 cup warm water

2Tbls oil

1 3 oz packet of jello

Mix it all together in pot, put it on stove and cook till thick while stirring  Knead while cooling, first with spoon then with hands until cool.  It should be smooth and lots of fun!  Tabs sprinkled in some glitter while it was cooking, just because she likes everything shiny!  You don’t have to add the jello, but it does make it smell good, and there are tons of recipes online!

3 thoughts on “Play dough

  1. What a great idea! I know Tabs is having a blast! Keep up the good work. Wish I was half the mother you are. Love you!

Leave a Reply

